Saluzzo full day guided tour
Follow your guide for a full day tour of the piedmontese town of Saluzzo. Discover its fascinating history and see the highlights of the city "guarded" by the Stone King, the Monviso Mountain, the highest peak of the Cottian Alps.
Saluzzo is a real jewel of the Province of Cuneo. It is a typically fourteenth-century hill village which has existed since Roman times, with characteristic small cobbled streets, churches and elegant noble palaces with gardens,
Ruled by fourteen marquises, the Marquisate of Saluzzo reached its maximum fortune in the fifteenth century, under the governments of Ludovico I and Ludovico II.
In 1511 it became a sort of small capital of the territory. After a brief period of decline, the city was later annexed to the Duchy of Savoy (1601) and then to the French kingdom during the Napoleonic period. With the constitution of the Kingdom of Italy, it was named the chief town of the district and the seat of the sub-prefecture.
You will have the opportunity to take a complete tour of the town focusing especially on its older part, Castile. For four centuries Castile was the residence of the Marquises of Saluzzo. Built between 1270 and 1286, the castle was expanded over the centuries, with four towers, bastions, a drawbridge and a moat. At the end of the fifteenth century it was transformed into a stately home. Rebuilt as a penal house (1825), it remained so until 1992, when restoration projects began. Today it houses the Museum of Knighthood and the Museum of Prison Memory.
Casa Cavassa, symbol of the Renaissance in Saluzzo, was the residence of Galeazzo and Francesco dei Cavassa, a noble family from Carmagnola. This suggestive and elegant building with its loggias, turrets and spiral staircases takes advantage of the slope of the hill to reach six floors. It presents a sequence of rooms with painted wooden ceilings, decorated walls, period furniture, frescoes and paintings including the Madonna della Misericordia, court masterpiece by Hans Clemer (1499).